Our story begins in the year 1851, in the Russian Grand Duchy of Finland. Harvest is uncertain, population keeps growing. A grand Art Nouveau stone building, Seminaarinmäki granary, is built to secure the local grain supply during the difficult years.
The hard times were eventually overcome and in the year 1916, there was no longer need for a granary, so it was turned into the new public and academic library with the lead of the architect Wivi Lönn. In the year 1948, it was time for the building to continue its journey, when the public and academic library was replaced by the city library. With the growing population, the new library soon became too small, and in the year 1980, the library moved to its new premises, leaving the grand old building empty once again.
Two years later, in the year 1982, the old granary was taken over by the the Craft Museum of Finland, which was opened to the public on the 10th of June 1983. The building got to enjoy the bustling museum life for almost 20 years, until the year 2000, when it was time for the museum to move to its own new premises. After a year of emptiness, the building gets brand new purpose as the University of Jyväskylä headmaster’s office. The building served as the administration office for the University until the year 2014, after which the beautiful old building was once again left without a purpose.
Now the story of the oldest stone building in Jyväskylä continues, when The Local Culture Hostel & Café opens its doors in the spring 2018. The beautiful old building gets to once again showcase its grandeur and the people get to enjoy its atmosphere and its hidden wonders.